B5 engine woes - again

Got a question about your ALPINA ask it here !
You've got the car now you need to know something, techincal advice, specific questions etc.

Moderators: Charles, neil, D4

Grumpyjohn1957
ALP
ALP

B5 engine woes - again

Post by Grumpyjohn1957 » Sun Mar 20, 2022 10:50 pm

John is not a happy Easter bunny.
For the last 3 weeks I’ve been working in town, a 12-mile drive instead of the 45-miles of motorway and fast road I’ve been doing for 3 years. Using Eco the car stop/starts constantly for 6 of the 12 miles. Driving home on Thursday night three times the car momentarily stuttered under gentle acceleration, barely perceptible but enough for me to note the interruption to normally silky progression.
On Friday driving into work I thought I could smell petrol but dismissed it.
Saturday, petrol smells, ranging from faint to distinct. Travelling at around 50/60 with the roof tilted constant very faint whiff with one particularly strong one when sitting at lights.
Today, Sunday, I decided to take her for a long-mixed road ride to try and get a definitive. In fact, I went to C&M (got there one o clock without a ticket so didn’t stop). Sure enough, a subtle misfire putting the power on after a long over run descent and a couple of momentarily hesitant pickups coming out of bends accompanied by intermittent fuel odours at random intervals. Interestingly fuel economy was the best it’s been in a long time averaging 29 mpg round trip.
When I got home and had a good listen, the ticking (cha cha) noise the previous engine made has returned, its emanating from LHS of engine. I’ve tried to capture it on a recording from the FNS wheel arch but it’s not clearly audible on the recording, I’ll try again tomorrow from a cold start.
A Porsche article I read describes this exact same sound as a symptom of bore scoring, the writer likening it to a noisy lifter.