Taking the B4s out for a test drive

The place to talk about ALPINAs.
e.g. News, Reviews, Insurance, Warranties, Running Costs, Sightings, general questions etc.

Moderators: Charles, neil, D4

TheJT
A
A

Taking the B4s out for a test drive

Post by TheJT » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:35 pm

Sytner lent me the B4s demo car (as seen in all the press coverage/Joe Achilles video etc.) yesterday.

Had great fun taking it around the Cotswolds and comparing it to my D5 BT (am starting to mull the idea of dropping down a size).

I'm not remotely qualified to say anything especially technical about it, but impressions were very positive (inevitably). On the motorway, the D5 - perhaps unsurprisingly - has the edge. Effortless power at all times and all speeds, quieter and of course more spacious and comfortable on long drives, especially as I'm a taller driver!

On the glorious country roads (which were thankfully dry and quiet) however, the B4s is a joy. Handles beautifully once you get used to what for me felt like quite light steering and all the power to come out of corners makes it great fun given the grip which lets it float round bends at speed. Had to overtake a couple of large agricultural vehicles and the stomach compressing acceleration is quite something. No-one needs telling that this car is quick.

My preferred setup was definitely Comfort mode and Sports gearing. The suspension set up in Sport mode was too firm for UK roads: on some potholed roads around Oxford the D5 soaks up everything, but on the same roads, the B4 was positively bone-shaking. Suspect on the continent I'd be fine. On the D5 I generally stick to normal Drive gearing, using Sport only for fast country roads or proper hilly terrain (or the occasional quick getaway at a junction!), but I do use Sport mode off motorway and don't find it a problem in terms of suspension. In the B4, Sport gearing was much better in all conditions other than motorway and heavy traffic/towns.